What to do with a sick baby…

0001-70896682

Well it FINALLY happened. Lucy caught her first cold. Friday morning she was fine, and then boom, Friday night, she’s sick. The poor girl is extremely stuffed up, and she seems to be having a little bit of a stomach bug too! She went almost 6 months without getting sick, I guess it had to happen eventually.

I had another blog post planned for today, but the lack of sleep since Friday has brought me back to her first 5 weeks of life.

Here are the three things that have helped both of us get through these last few days:

1. The Nosefrida : Before I became a mom I would have thought this thing was nasty…but it really works and its so worth it when your baby can barely breathe.

2. A humidifier : I think this is self explanatory.

3. Co-sleeping (Bed sharing) : This is something I typically don’t do. I have nothing against it, as I agree with a lot of attachment parenting philosophies. However, having baby in bed with me/us at night just isn’t something I’m comfortable with. With that being said, bed sharing has made 2 of the last 3 nights 100x easier. Friday night, she would only sleep on me or next to me, and would wake up screaming immediately if I put her down. Saturday night she was better and fell asleep in her Pack & Play, but last night was a repeat of Friday. So, I booted her Dad out of bed and Lucy and I got to snuggle all night!

Is there anything that has made your life as a parent easier when you have a sick child?

2 thoughts on “What to do with a sick baby…

Leave a Reply

