How I Became a Co-sleeping Mama

Well, when you swear you’ll never do something, you usually end up doing it, right? I have nothing against co-sleeping. It just wasn’t anything I wanted to do, or planned on doing. I like a lot of the Attachment Parenting philosophies. If you’ve read my blog before, you probably remember that I mentioned how my little one was a perfect sleeper. Yes, perfect, from 5 weeks to about 5 months. And then she changed on me! She started waking constantly through the night just for the paci. Now, however, we’ve got something totally different on our plates. It started when she got her first cold, almost two weeks ago. She was extra clingy and wanted more cuddles than normal, which is hard to imagine since she’s already quite the snuggle bug! This past weekend we hit our new low. Lucy will no longer entertain the idea of sleeping on her own. This little girl will be SO TIRED that she’s passed out in my arms, and as soon as I set her down she wakes up screaming. I give her the paci, and she keeps screaming. So, naturally I pick her up trying to calm her down, and wouldn’t you know I don’t have to do anything at all to soothe her?! As soon as she’s back in my arms she’s passed out once again. After a few rounds of this I totally gave up and put her in bed with us.

Today, we put our mattress on the floor. It’s official, we’re now a bed-sharing family.

If any mama’s have any tips for A.) successful bed-sharing or B.) how to get baby back in bed by herself please let me know!

3 thoughts on “How I Became a Co-sleeping Mama

  1. Mine did the same combination backslide/cold at 5 months! We humored her for the duration of her cold (i.e. getting up with her 3-6 times a night) but once she was better we started sleep training. I had been rocking her to sleep before the cold/night wakings but now we started putting her to bed “sleepy but awake”. It was tough the first few nights (“sleepy” babies can still scream) but she never went more than 10 mins before accepting bedtime fate and -AMAZING- she started sleeping through the night again. I found this site on the ipad during a 3am wake-up and it has become my go-to for sleep solutions. http://www.troublesometots.com/what-you-need-to-know-about-sleeping-through-the-night-part-i/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Emily! Our mattress is still on the floor, but every once in a while we attempt getting her to sleep in her crib, she’s not having it though! I’ll definitely check your blog out as well πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

